This is Your Brain On Parasites Review

I really do love reviewing books and thats why am reviewing this one.
You want to find out what “This is your brain on parasites ” book is right?And you want to find out what it really is and how it works isn’t it?
Well,my “This is your brain on parasites”Book  review will come in handy for you as it will help you know all about it regarding ,what it really is,summary of the book,cost and finally my thoughts about this book.
I will try all my best to give you every single detail about this book and if by any chance i don’t tackle one of the things you really wanted,you can as well ask in the comments area and i will be happy to help you out .
With that said,lets now get started with the “This is your brain on parasites” book review.
Summary
Title: This is Your Brain on Parasites: How Tiny Creatures Manipulate Our Behavior and Shape Society.
Best Place to Buy: www.amazon.com
Author:Kathleen McAuliffe
Edition: illustrated
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Length: 268 pages
Subjects: Psychology,Psychopathology,
Schizophrenia

What It Is

This is a fascinating book about the long history of humans and parasites, using many animal examples along the way.
In this book we learn the ways that parasites interact with the human brain.
In this mind –  blowing book, McAuliffe reveals the  war between parasites and other creatures that is playing out in our very own bodies.
What makes a good book or rather what are some of the qualities of a good book.
1 ) The Grip Factor
Basically, it’s that tired old cliché – you simply can’t put it down. If a book grips you, makes you late for everything, and after reading it you wish you’d read it more slowly, then that is, without doubt, a good book. It is useful, of course, if this kind of book comes with a pre-read warning in the blurb, so that you can clear your diary and stock up on food before opening the cover, but so many books are described as ‘gripping’ or ‘full of suspense’ that you never really know. This, for me, is the top characteristic of a good book.
2) A Plot that is Engaging
The plot has to move. It can move forwards, backwards, skip around and through, but it has to move. It has to engage me as a reader, and make me interested to know what happens next, or what happened, or what might happen. It has to take me on a journey. I don’t want to be able to predict the entire plot from the outset, or (dare I say it) from reading the blurb. I want some drama, some surprises, something to keep me reading.
3) The Language Style
This is completely subjective, but for me it is also essential. A ‘badly-written’ book, no matter how fascinating the plot or engaging the characters, will not meet my criteria for a good book. However, this isn’t necessarily that I prefer one language style over another. I do enjoy short, concise sentences (e.g. in a thriller or crime novel) but can just as easily fall into the rhythm of a good Jane Austen novel, where the sentences can be ten times as long. It is more a matter of the writer, having chosen a language style that works for that particular narrative, sticking to it, and using it well.
4) Speech that isn’t Confusing
Don’t you just hate it when you get confused about which character is speaking? I’m not saying that all writers should stick to the conventional way of indicating speech. All I ask is that, whichever method they choose, it is clear enough that it doesn’t get in the way of the story.
5) Characters You Can See
This one varies hugely depending on the genre, but what I really look for is a cast of characters that I can clearly see in my own imagination. The author may not go into long detailed descriptions of what each character looks like, but they give you enough – a few key, well-chosen words that conjure them up as real flesh and blood. These descriptions should give you a sense of their character, as well as a physical description, and should be believable, not just the stereotypes.
6) A Satisfying Ending
I don’t mean that it has to finish with everyone living happily ever after, the mystery completely solved or the long lost lovers reunited at last. What I do mean is that when I finally put the book down I want to feel a sense of having been on a journey and reached an ending point, a sense of completeness, a sense of ‘closure’.
7) Edited Thoroughly
This goes without saying really, and most books have gone through so much editing that it wouldn’t be a problem, but if I do see the odd typo or a sentence that looks like it has too many words in it, it does stick out, and the book will have to fight all the harder to make me love it.
8) Characters You Can Identify With
I do also believe that identifying with a character, particularly the main protagonist, is something which can turn an ordinary book into a good book. However, I also believe that there are numerous examples of great works of literature containing characters with which the reader will not identify. I think the essential thing here is that these characters really come to life. I want to care about them, to love them, or hate them or, at the very least, to understand their motives.
9) Meeting Expectations
If you get part way through the book and you wonder why the publisher classed it as a romance, or whether the front cover illustration actually bears any relation whatsoever to the story, then this takes away from the overall effect. Of course, the sign of a really good book is that it exceeds your expectations. You see the quotes from renowned writers, the prize nominations, the tasteful cover design, and you expect a certain something, and what you get is beyond anything you imagined. Now that is a good book.
KATHLEEN MCAULIFFE is a contributing editor to Discover.
Her work has appeared in over a dozen national magazines, including Discover, the New York Times Magazine, Atlantic, and Smithsonian.
 From 1999 to 2006, she was also a health columnist for More.
Her work has been published in Best American Science Writing, and has received several grants and awards, including a science writing fellowship from the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole.
She has appeared numerous times on TV and radio, and was interviewed by To the Point, the nationally syndicated Osgood FIle, and other programs after her 2012 Atlantic feature How Your Cat Is Making You Crazy” became the second most widely read article in the magazine’s history. McAuliffe lives in Miami with her husband-a research physicist-and her two children.

Contents Of The Book

Before parasites were cool
Hitching a ride
Zombified
Hypnotized
Dangerous liaisons
Gut feelings
My microbes made me fat
Healing instinct
The forgotten emotion
Parasites and prejudice
Parasites and piety
The geography of thought.
Summary of What The Book Talks About.
This book delves into an astonishing investigation into the world of microbes, and the myriad ways in which they control how other creatures — including humans — act, feel, and think .
The idea of parasites modifying host behaviour is called the manipulation hypothesis, and it was brought to the attention of the general reader in 2000 by Carl Zimmer’s Parasite Rex . Journalist Kathleen McAuliffe is fascinated by such gruesome stories, and they form the basis of her book.
According to the book, parasites  microbes that cannot thrive and reproduce without another organism as a host are shockingly sophisticated and extraordinarily powerful.
In fact, a plethora of parasites affect our behavior in ways we have barely begun to understand.
In this book, McAuliffe reveals the war between parasites and other creatures that is playing out in our very own bodies.
And more surprising still, she uncovers the decisive role that parasites may have played in the rise and demise of entire civilizations.
Our obsession with cleanliness and our experience of disgust are both evolutionary tools for avoiding infection, but they evolved differently for different populations.
Political, social, and religious differences among societies may be caused, in part, by the different parasites that prey on us.
Parasites influence our species on the cultural level too. As McAuliffe documents, a subconscious fear of contagion impacts virtually every aspect of our lives, from our sexual attractions and social circles to our morals and political views.
Also ,the book talks about psychological theories about behaviour predominate, and the evidence for these is largely anecdotal.
The major issues in parasitology how parasites can persist in a host, hiding from our immune response and adapting to the host environment  aren’t dealt with at all.
McAuliffe’s sincere aim is to present the parasite as a master behavioural manipulator. In doing so, she has overlooked some amazing parasitology research.
Drawing on a huge body of research, she argues that our dread of contamination is an evolved defense against parasites–and a double-edged sword.
The horror and revulsion we feel when we come in contact with people who appear diseased or dirty helped pave the way for civilization, but may also be the basis for major divisions in societies that persist to this day.
In the tradition of Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel and Neil Shubin’s Your Inner Fish, This Is Your Brain on Parasites is both a journey into cutting-edge science and a revelatory examination of what it means to be human.”– provided by publisher.
This book has all the elements of a crime thriller: violence, blood, gore, race and sex. But here the criminals are parasites.
McAuliffe tells a vivid and sometimes horrifying tale of the hijackers that control our brains and our behaviour. In company with the best science writers, she shows us that reality can be way more interesting than fiction.”

Best Place to Buy The Book

The best place I recommend you buy the book is on Amazon. The price there is fair and according to my research, it is the most trusted online store at the moment. It will also be very convenient for you to buy there if you were planning to do more online shopping today.

My Thoughts
This is a nicely written book but I found the book to be a lot less gross and more of something to ponder about.

Conclusion

Feel free to leave in your comments as well
as your questions.
I hope you found this review useful to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *